Winnipeg Copyright Roundtable Attendee List and Podcast Posted

The government has posted the attendees and the podcast from this week's copyright roundtable, which was hosted by Shelly Glover.  The attendees were:

  • Carolyn Wood, Association of Canadian Publishers (ACP) – no change to fair dealing
  • Karen Adams, Canadian Association of Research Libraries (CARL) – expand fair dealing, statutory damages
  • Merit Jensen-Carr, Documentary Organization of Canada (DOC) – expand fair dealing
  • Nichole Cyr Hiebert, MTS Allstream – notice and notice, link circumvention to copyright infringement
  • Sid Rashid, University of Manitoba Students' Association – fair dealing
  • Christopher Dutchyn, University of Saskatchewan – no to copyright term extension
  • Cecilia Araneda, Winnipeg Film Group – artists need fair dealing
  • Alan Willaert, American Federation of Musicians – endorsed C-61, main objective of copyright is to protect creators. Implement WIPO.  Expand private copying.
  • Sean McManus, Manitoba Music – less aligned with CRIA. Not interested in anti-circumvention legislation.  Looking for ways to monetize.

Note that additional roundtables have recently been added for Halifax and Quebec City.

Comments are closed.